top of page

Meet the Intern

Updated: Apr 7, 2022

Hello, my name is Talia Perrea and I'm a Digital Marketing Intern with Young Urban Arts Foundation this Semester (Spring '19).

Now you're probably wondering why I'm introducing myself again in my eighth blog post, but it's because I have officially started my internship. In fact, I just completed my fourth week, so I'm halfway done.

For those who come for the pictures, I hate to disappoint, but you're out of luck. You can check back for my next post for pictures from Ireland, and may I just say they're amazing.

Now that we've gotten rid of the picture seekers, let's talk about what I've learned so far. I first accepted this position back in late November or early December, and I was anxiously waiting to start it. Young Urban Arts Foundation (YUAF) is an organization that works to keep young people off the streets and uses music, dance, art, and other various types of artistic expression to help young people channel their emotions. It also provides a safe space for young people to discuss their mental health in a healthy way while providing them with the proper resources for further help. The charity was founded back in 2009, and they're celebrating its 10th year starting in July, which is where I come into play.

I was brought in to help with the 10th year celebration. In fact, I was one of the minds behind creating the idea of their 10th-year campaign, which we have taken to call the "thank you" campaign. I helped plan the social media feed from the start of April to the beginning of July when the celebration is. I can't go into too much detail, but I'm super excited for the release of everything, and if you're interested in what I've been working on follow YUAF on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter: @YUAFOfficial.

This wasn't what I originally wanted to do, I wanted to work more with event planning, but it's a good experience nonetheless. I am struggling though to find the balance between work, school, and social life. The stress of everything is starting to get to me. There's a lot of work for me to do, and I only have four weeks left, and I don't think I'll have enough time to finish everything. I already know I'm going to have to give up on some of the things I wanted to do, like filming a music video.

I suppose this is part of life though, learning how to balance everything. They do say life is a balancing act after all. I guess while I try to figure it out, I'll just keep doing what interns do best, just keep plugging away. I know everything will be worth it in the end.

As Always,

Talia

15 views0 comments
bottom of page